CAF announces Prize Money for AFL

The Confederation of African Football has officially revealed the prize money for the inaugural African Football League tournament, featuring the continent’s highest-ranked and most accomplished football clubs.

Scheduled to kick off on Friday, October 20, 2023, in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, the AFL’s opening match will showcase Simba SC from Tanzania facing off against Al Ahly SC from Egypt.

The Prize Money for the AFL is as follows:
$4 000 000 (R75 Million) for the Winner
$3 000 000 (R56 Million) for the Runner-up
$1 700 000 (R32 Million) for each of the Semi-finalists
$1 000 000 (R18.9 Million) for each of the Quarter-finalists

The prize money at stake is remarkably attractive and competitive, with the winners needing just six matches to claim the substantial prize pool of $4,000,000.

Among the notable and top-ranking football clubs participating in this inaugural AFL edition are Enyimba FC (Nigeria), Wydad AC (Morocco), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), TP Mazembe (DR Congo), Esperance Sportive de Tunis (Tunisia) and Atletico Petroleos de Luanda (Angola).

The AFL represents a collaborative effort between CAF and FIFA. One of its primary objectives is to elevate the quality of African club football to a global competitive level and ensure the commercial viability of African football clubs.

Additionally, the AFL aims to foster the development and nurturing of youth football talent across the African continent.
CAF’s overarching goal is to ensure that all 54 CAF Member Associations, including those without representation in the AFL, benefit and receive financial support from the commercial success and viability of this prestigious tournament

error: Content is protected !!