Messi nominated for Ballon d’Or

Nominees for this year’s Ballon d’Or awards were announced and Argentina international, Lionel Messi, was amongst the nominees announced by organisers France Football magazine.

The seven-time Ballon d’Or winner, led Argentina to World Cup glory in Qatar last December, their first triumph since 1986.

PSG forward Kylian Mbappe is also nominated, but Cristiano Ronaldo is not included for first time since 2004 and Neymar is also absent.

Manchester City forward Erling Haaland, who won the UEFA award for the best men’s player, after his 52 goals last season is one eight City players nominated.

He is joined by Kevin De Bruyne, Rodri, Bernardo Silva, Julian Alvarez, Ruben Dias, Josko Gvardiol and Ilkay Gundogan, who joined Barcelona this summer.

Harry Kane, who joined Bayern Munich from Tottenham Hotspur, is also included after scoring 40 goals for club and country, but there was no place for Manchester United forward Marcus Rashford despite his 30 goals and 11 assists during the 2022/23 season.

Other notable Premier League inclusions are Aston Villa’s World Cup-winning goalkeeper Emi Martinez, Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah and Arsenal’s Martin Odegaard.

Men’s Ballon d’Or: Nominees
Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid)
Harry Kane (Bayern Munich)
Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
Erling Haaland (Man City)
Bernardo Silva (Man City)
Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
Rodri (Man City)
Julian Alvarez (Man City)
Ruben Dias (Man City)
Josko Gvardiol (Man City)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Andre Onana (Man United)
Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)
Lionel Messi (Inter Miami)
Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
Randal Kolo Muani (PSG)
Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
Kim Min-Jae (Bayern Munich)
Karim Benzema (Al-Ittihad)
Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona)
Victor Osimhen (Napoli)
Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli)
Nicola Barella (Inter Milan)
Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
Yassine Bounou (Al Hilal)

Women’s Ballon d’Or: Nominees
Mary Earps (Man United)
Millie Bright(Chelsea)
Rachel Daly (Aston Villa)
Georgia Stanway (Bayern Munich)
Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
Guro Reiten (Chelsea)
Katie Mccabe (Arsenal)
Khadija Shaw (Man City)
Jill Roord (Man City)
Yui Hasegawa (Man City)
Hayley Raso (Real Madrid)
Amanda Ilestedt (Arsenal)
Hinata Miyazawa (Man United)
Daphne Van Domselaar (Aston Villa)
Mapi Leon (Barcelona)
Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona)
Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona)
Patricia Guijarro (Barcelona)
Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona)
Salma Paralluelo (Barcelona)
Olga Ramona (Real Madrid)
Linda Caicedo (Real Madrid)
Alba Redondo (Levante)
Wendie Renard (Lyon)
Kadidiatou Diani (Lyon)
Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)
Ewa Pajor (Wolfsburg)
Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)
Debinha (Kansas City)
Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns)

error: Content is protected !!