Mourinho reaches sixth European Final

AS Roma knocked out Bayer Leverkusen to reach the Final of Europa League final where they will take on Sevilla.

And this will be the sixth European final Roma coach, Jose Mourinho. The Portuguese manager won the UEFA Cup (now Europa League) and UEFA Champions League with FC Porto.

In 2010 won the Champions League with Inter Milan where they beat Bayern Munich in the Final. He won the Europa League with Manchester United and Europa Conference League with AS Roma.

During a post-match conference Roma captain, Lorenzo Pellegrini, says the team has improved since the arrival of Mourinho.

“There are many things Roma can improve on, but we don’t lack sacrifice,” said Pellegrini. “We came here knowing their qualities, we put ourselves on the pitch as a tough group of players, as a family and we succeeded in a small feat.”

“I always try to be on the front lines when there is some responsibility to be taken on. I know my teammates rely on this.”

“When Bayer had possession, someone was needed to hold the ball and play in order to catch a foul and stop the game. I never back down.”

“After Mourinho’s arrival we were all expecting a quality leap. Then clear is not easy, he is the architect of our identity.”

“He is different in everything from the others. He knows how to make you feel the importance of the game. We came here and we all knew what we had to do in possession and without the ball.”

“Especially in Europe what he gave us, you can see for yourselves. My feeling from the inside is that we were always missing a little piece to get there in the years before him, and the coach helped us with this and gave us a big boost.”

Results Around the World

England Premier League
Newcastle United 4
Brighton & Hove Albion 1

Europa League

Bayer Leverkusen 0
Roma 0

Sevilla 2
Juventus 1

Europa Conference League

AZ Alkmaar 0
West Ham United 1

Basel 1
Fiorentina 3

Turkish Super League
Fenerbahce 3
Trabzonspor 1

Atlanta United 4
Colorado Rapids 0

Charlotte 2
Chicago Fire 1

Columbus Crew 2
LA Galaxy 0

FC Cincinnati 3
CF Montreal 0

Orlando City 1
New York City FC 1

Philadelphia Union 0
DC United 0

Toronto FC 0
New York Red Bulls 0

FC Dallas 2
Vancouver Whitecaps 1

Minnesota United 1
Houston Dynamo 0

Nashville SC 2
Inter Miami CF 1

Real Salt Lake 0
Portland Timbers 0

Los Angeles FC 1
Sporting Kansas City 1

Seattle Sounders FC 1
Austin FC 2

Egypt Premier League
Zamalek 1
Aswan FC 0

Brazil Copa do Brasil
Palmeiras 3
Fortaleza 0

Santos 0
Bahia 0

Gremio 1
Cruzeiro 1

Sport Recife 0
Sao Paulo 2

America MG 2
Internacional 0

Athletico Paranaense 3
Botafogo FR 2

Atletico MG 2
Corinthians 0

error: Content is protected !!